Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

I'd like two FA signings

December 13, 2023 03:21PM
To me it feels like we need to add one FA to the offensive line. My rationale is that Boom representing a savings and the fact the team knows by now they cannot rely on him means he is cut. And at that point we only have Havenstein making any sort of money.

Now as to who they sign there is some room for deviation. I was rather hot on that Dolphins center who is poised to hit FA but they just lost him for the season and I'm no doctor so for now he's off my list. The guards are all a bit iffy tbh. And I doubt the top two LT free agents hit the market so it feels like they'll ink Dotson.

From there we have JACKSON / AVILA / SHELTON / DOTSON / HAVENSTEIN. Which means you know you have a let's say "solid" OL if you don't do a thing beyond that. Now I do think it's necessary to add a LT, which is to say an OT with good feet at a minimum whether it is a polished guy up top in the draft or a project a bit later. But you're not desperate. If they let Dotson leave in FA and don't sign anyone then you're back to using regular season games to figure out your OL instead of entering game one with your starting 5 on a roll plus having a kid behind Jackson biding his time and learning.