Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Rams GM: Not seeking ‘big splash’ by trade deadline, but don’t rule anything out...

October 28, 2020 03:07PM
Rams GM: Not seeking 'big splash' at trade deadline but don't rule it out

[theramswire.usatoday.com]

Cameron DaSilva

The NFL trade deadline is rapidly approaching, with all deals needing to be made by Nov. 3, which is next Tuesday. The Rams have been active at the deadline in each of the last two years, headlined by their deals for Jalen Ramsey in 2019 and Dante Fowler Jr. the year prior.

They also traded away Marcus Peters and Aqib Talib before the deadline last year, so they’re no strangers to making in-season trades. Will they make it three years in a row with a splash before the deadline?

With Rams GM Les Snead, never say never. However, based on his comments, it sounds like they’re comfortable with the current state of their roster and aren’t looking to make a big move before Tuesday’s deadline.

“I think with all things considered, where we’re at, how we’re playing, the youth on our team, wanting to continue getting youth experience, we’re not actively seeking to do things,” Snead said on the Coach McVay Show. “We like where our draft capital is for the future, we like some of those things. So a ‘splash’ would usually mean giving up more important pieces in the draft.”

It’s understandable that Snead wouldn’t tip his hand or give away the Rams’ plans, but he didn’t completely shut the door on the possibility of making a deal before the deadline. Rumors are constantly swirling about players who could be available, and Snead is always listening.

If there’s someone out there who could help the Rams short-term and long-term, they might strike and make a move. It just has to fit with the team’s overall goal without sacrificing too much draft capital, considering they’re already thin on picks due to the Ramsey trade.