Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Rams Film Review--vs Giants 1st Half Defense

October 10, 2020 02:27PM
Did a thorough watch of the first half defense vs the Giants. Since it takes me a while to get through it I thought I'd post what I have so far. Just a half so small sample size.

Our coverages are difficult to decipher. We are very heavy in zone(75% in 1st half) use but that zone has some man principles to it as well. For example, zone typically covers and area while man covers a specific receiver. We play alot of 3Seam or Bronco coverage. In 3Seam, you have 3 deep defenders and 4 short defenders(like Cover 3) but with 3Seam depending on what route the slot receivers run the underneath zone defenders may switch to man coverage on them. Usually, the underneath defender in zone will switch to man if the slot receiver goes out or vertical while if the slot goes inside they will stay in their zone.

I'm not an expert by any stretch but I have a good feel for coverages but it is really hard to decipher exactly what the Rams defense is doing consistently. Some interesting things I've found out though:

1. We are not going to let people beat us deep. Almost always there is a very deep high safety--even when they play Quarters one safety will stay way deeper than the furthest receiver.

2. The outside CBs will frequently play man to man even in a zone. I think this is most likely when there is no other receiver on their side(or any obvious deep threat). This was problematic on a play vs the Giants where Hill had to run all the way across the field with Engram--almost an impossible coverage task given Hill began the play with outside leverage.