Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Forced by my doctor to watch the game w/o elevating my blood pressure

November 26, 2019 10:22AM
Nothing serious, but I had a wisdom tooth pulled on Saturday afternoon and I had a few restrictions. No lifting anything over 10 lbs for 4 days, no carbonated beverages for 10 days, and not to do anything that elevates my blood pressure. I'm no oral surgeon, so I won't argue. I'm sure it comes as a shock to most of you I'm not a doctor. lol Anyhow, I debated even watching the game because its hard to watch a team you are invested in, and not get really excited or angry. I did watch, and remained shockingly calm. And what I saw watching it that way was interesting. It was almost analytical. Here's what I saw. And I am only speaking about last night.

No particular order:

1. The Rams defense allowed 3.3 ypr (1st) and about 89 rushing yards per game (4th) so statistically, the run defense has been good all year. Last night, they missed a ton of tackles. It was a horrible showing. I expected it to be better.

2. If I were any DL other then Darth Donald, I would be embarrassed to cash my game check from last night. They did absolutely nothing. And it was obvious the game plan, so either a smart, veteran DC like Phillips didn't adjust or the players just couldn't execute the adjustments. I'm thinking the latter. I've said it once, I will say it again: Not getting any decent help for AD in his prime is borderline criminal.

3. I was listening to Ben Leiber on the radio the other day and he brought up a good point on zone coverage: After 3 seconds the coverage is blown and at that point if you are in coverage, find the closest receiver to you and get in his pocket. Well, with no pass rush, the zone coverage was blown a lot last night and it lead to guys being wide open while our safeties were covering grass and air. Unacceptable.