Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Matt Waldman: Josh Reynolds is his No. 2 WR in this draft. LONG!

April 29, 2017 07:50AM
2. Josh Reynolds, Texas A&M (6-3, 194)

With the exception of a week where Isaiah Ford snuck into this spot, Josh Reynolds has been my No. 2 receiver since September. Keep in mind, I don’t do published, soap-opera-style rankings, so it’s not as if I studied everyone, ranked them and then updated that ranking as I went. 

I happened to watch Reynolds early, and he had a strong score for his performances that earned him the No. 2 spot. As I continued studying him and the rest of this class, Reynolds didn’t budge from this spot. It’s still a telling indication that I’ve liked him for a while. 

It’s why the lack of buzz surrounding Reynolds was puzzling. Those of us in the draft community that do this work year-round understand that we’ll differ on players, and wide receiver has a great deal of variation. Even so, I’ve come across only a few people in the community who are as optimistic about Reynolds’ talent. 

A quick, fluid, and aggressive wide receiver, Reynolds isn’t a special player at this point, but he has special moments. Pair those moments with skills that are good enough for Reynolds to contribute now and get even better later, and he has the potential of a secondary starter during the next two years who 32 could evolve into a primary weapon by year three or four. 

Reynolds begins routes with good pad level off the line of scrimmage. He has a number of methods to work free from press coverage. He’ll reduce his shoulder, chop, rip, and swim with his hands, and he’ll pair them with good three- and four-step release patterns. I’ve even seen Reynolds take the hyper aggressive approach and shove the defender off his spot with a punch at the line of scrimmage before the defender can even react to the snap.