Quote
kw13
Yep, he can only do his part, but I kind of wonder if the design of the play is to make it look like that is the target while the other guy slips all the way across the flat...
But yes, if that TE is open, you just throw to him. And Speights had him covered.
but if a first read is open, take it -- is a rule. Don't progress if you don't have to. Say Speights took a false step on that and was not very close. I think arnold takes it for the TD.
You never know if the actual design of the play will work --- ball may be dropped, tipped, INT .... so you could very well be right, the throw back to other side may have been the design, but that is why they put in progressions, take it if it's there, if not, moves to #2 and #3