Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

My first impression Firestick vs AppleTV review...

July 16, 2017 08:15PM
I have little experience to go on here with the Firestick, only been using it a few days.

I have both - AppleTV and Firestick. So... here's what I can say at this time.

They are exactly the same, do the same things, so me buying a Firestick was "mostly" redundant. Oops. The only thing that you can really compare, (another that I'll get to), is navigation and I don't like either system very much. I'm talking menus, finding things, voice recognition, etc. If I have to choose..well, I can't. AppleTV is far more simple and easy to use... Firestick is more robust. But I KNOW AppleTV and I'm LEARNING Firestick.. this could change.

So for the most part there is no difference.... no big difference. I believe, not sure, the Firestick has a bit more to offer in the way of apps for watching shows: movies, TV, etc. That's the 'other' thing. As far as the 'major' channels.. .HBO, ESPN, Local Channels, there is no difference... both have them all EXCEPT... I think the Fire Stick now has Amazon Prime and it won't be available on AppleTV until later this year.

Without question AppleTV works better with my computers and devices, (duh, they're all apple). BUT... and even though I haven't set it all up yet... I think the Fire Stick will work with my computers and devices as well. Personal content I mean.. movies, music, photos. Never as seamlessly, for sure, Apple will make sure of that... Google as well.

THUS... since the Fire Stick is so much cheaper... and if you have neither, and aren't locked into Apple like I am... go Fire Stick. Although, and some of you might know... can you stream from a phone, or tablet, to a Fire Stick? If that's important to you, (it is for me), and Fire Stick won't, then AppleTV wins. (I gotta believe you can with a Fire Stick).