Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Three encouraging posts about Boom at LG by DR RAM...

August 28, 2020 02:51PM
First post by DR RAM...

I rewatched the first game of last season, sole focus on Joseph Noteboom at LG. I came away very encouraged. I studied this on all 22 coaches film, and watched every offensive play, at least 3 times from every angle. I used to do play by play reports. I didn’t do that. I am just going to do more of a scouting report.

Best:

- Very fluid player, and his athleticism jumps out at you.
- Smooth footwork, utilizes quick choppy steps.
- Didn’t miss one assignment.
- Easily performs combo blocks on running plays. Maybe our best OL at that.
- Very adept at Slip, and zone blocks.
- Hands, and hand placement are very good.

Worst:

- Dropped head on initial pass blocks, lost balance.
- Leverage issues at times, too upright in his stance.
- Lacks hard punch, lacks hard finish.
- Inconsistent re-anchor.

Summary:

Noteboom is a very athletic player, and appeared to have a very fast learning curve in game. Most of the negatives from the worst list, disappeared after the first series. He stopped dropping his head, he anchored better, and he ended up with 3 pancakes.

Noteboom didn’t miss one assignment, and there were only two plays which resulted in negative plays, one of which he was covered, blocked his assignment, and then another DL came in full speed and engaged him. Goff still got the ball off, neither player got past Boom.

He had several key blocks in the game, including a couple GL plays, and Gurley’s longest runs in the game. In the run game Noteboom performed several combo blocks, including key on GL TD. Noteboom made Key 2 pulling kick out blocks during the game, sparking big runs.