Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Re: Goff played "Horrible" even when the line was good: (tst)

June 23, 2017 08:28AM
Classicalwit
Hahaha!

He was awful, but I, for one, am glad he struggled because it undermines the notion borne from contemporary, information-obsessed thinking that simply imparting information is enough, and that learning is a simple, linear process.
It is not. And, with proper reasoning, this forces a different realization.

Here's an anecdote, of an architect, not a jar: I work in an office where complicated software is used to enter information that another department uses to make contracts. When I first started as a manager, I could not understand it. In fact, I had to really on my colleagues most of the time to help me complete my work. Our department accountant used to use me as the butt of her jokes, and our contracts office was very frustrated. Every time I made a contract, it would come back with incorrect or missing information.

That was four years ago. Now, the contracts office has a new director who actually understands contracts, and how the software used to create them, should work.

He told me yesterday, that I need to teach my colleagues what contractual language is, and how to overwrite the boilerplate that the software uses. Now, my director comes to me when she needs help, or when she has to create a contract, and she can't afford for it to come back with corrections. When she is busy, which is a lot lately, she will simply have me do the work for her.

And the department accountant who used to joke about me? Yesterday, I spent 20 minutes showing her the finer points of how to use some of the software's features to overwrite settings to create custom math relations. In mid July, the director of the contracts office and I will teach a seminar to both of our departments about contracts and the use of this software.

Redemption is very satisfying.

Four years eh.
SubjectAuthorViewsPosted